Deutsche Bank Group

Our Organization

Headquartered in Frankfurt am Main, Germany, we are the largest bank in Germany and one of the largest financial institutions in Europe and the world, as measured by total assets of € 2,012 billion as of December 31, 2012. As of that date, we employed 98,219 people on a full-time equivalent basis and operated in 72 countries out of 2,984 branches worldwide, of which 65 % were in Germany. We offer a wide variety of investment, financial and related products and services to private individuals, corporate entities and institutional clients around the world.

Following a comprehensive strategic review, we realigned our organizational structure in the fourth quarter 2012. We reaffirmed our commitment to the universal banking model and to our four existing corporate divisions. We strengthened this emphasis with an integrated Asset & Wealth Management Corporate Division that includes former Corporate Banking & Securities businesses such as exchange-traded funds (ETFs). Furthermore, we created a Non-Core Operations Unit. This unit includes the former Group Division Corporate Investments (CI) as well as non-core operations which were re-assigned from other corporate divisions.

As of December 31, 2012 we were organized into the following five corporate divisions:

  • Corporate Banking & Securities (CB&S)
  • Global Transaction Banking (GTB)
  • Asset & Wealth Management (AWM)
  • Private & Business Clients (PBC)
  • Non-Core Operations Unit (NCOU)

The five corporate divisions are supported by infrastructure functions. In addition, we have a regional management function that covers regional responsibilities worldwide.

We have operations or dealings with existing or potential customers in most countries in the world. These operations and dealings include:

  • subsidiaries and branches in many countries;
  • representative offices in many other countries; and
  • one or more representatives assigned to serve customers in a large number of additional countries.

Please see Note 05 “Business Segments and Related Information” of our consolidated financial statements for a table with our net revenues split by geographical region, based on our management reporting systems.

Management Structure

We operate the five corporate divisions and the infrastructure functions under the umbrella of a “virtual holding company”. We use this term to mean that, while we subject the corporate divisions to the overall supervision of our Management Board, which is supported by infrastructure functions, we do not have a separate legal entity holding these five corporate divisions but we nevertheless allocate substantial managerial autonomy to them. To support this structure, key governance bodies function as follows:

The Management Board has the overall responsibility for the management of Deutsche Bank, as provided by the German Stock Corporation Act. Its members are appointed and removed by the Supervisory Board, which is a separate corporate body. Our Management Board focuses on strategic management, corporate governance, resource allocation, risk management and control, assisted by functional committees.

The Group Executive Committee was established in 2002. It comprises the members of the Management Board and senior representatives from our regions, corporate divisions and certain infrastructure functions appointed by the Management Board. The Group Executive Committee is a body that is not required by the Stock Corporation Act. It serves as a tool to coordinate our businesses and regions, discusses Group strategy and prepares recommendations for Management Board decisions. It has no decision making authority.

Within each corporate division and region, coordination and management functions are handled by operating committees and executive committees, which helps ensure that the implementation of the strategy of individual businesses and the plans for the development of infrastructure areas are integrated with global business objectives.

Corporate Divisions